Blogging Through Fresh Eyes

Ever since I left school I have never fully settled on one thing that I was passionate about; I’ve tried quite a few courses, I’ve worked in a variety of different jobs and I’ve experimented with hobbies. The only thing that I consistently return to is blogging which is why I currently feel like I’m greeting an old friend. For those of you that don’t know me, my name is Aymie and I appreciate you checking out my first post on here. For those of you that do… welcome to the new site!

So here’s a fun fact, I almost called this post “2018 – The Year of F**k It”

There is a context behind that rather flippant almost-title, this year I decided to quit university and pursue my own happiness rather than that of others. It was approximately a year ago that I figured out that the course was not for me and like many students, I did nothing about it out of fear over what people would think. After Christmas I evaluated the risks and the benefits for leaving and I was shocked by the lack of reasons I had to stay. I was spending 5 hours per night on reading and I still wasn’t getting the content at the same level as my classmates, I was feeling drained and I was having panic attacks before most of my seminars. I had to be selfish. I just wasn’t myself and I lost all ambition, I was desperate to just find that part of me that I lost when I decided to go to university.

So I did it. I withdrew from the course and packed up to live with my parents until I’m firmly back on my feet. At this point in time, I don’t regret my decision at all and I’m incredibly excited to get back into what I love doing the most. I’m not going to lie or sugar coat it, 2018 is going to be one of my toughest trials but at the end of the day I can genuinely say that I’m looking forward to facing the challenges that I’m sure to face over the course of this year. I’d love to know how other people in the same boat are getting on if you have a moment to spare! When I was doing my research I noticed a startling lack of positive advice for people that left university without a degree. Let’s drop the stigma and support the right to follow dreams instead.

2 thoughts on “Blogging Through Fresh Eyes”

  1. I’m so proud of you. This has really touched me! You have so much support and you are a truly magical young lady. Continue to shine bright you diamond!
    Good luck on your new ventures xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment